Week of 23 January

Well, I finished the 6th and final assessment of my Nutrition and Health course with Newbury College.wp_20170124_001  Time to celebrate! So when in Thatcham (as I was to see the chiropodist) I went to the Mug and Brew, as you do!  And had a really light and moist chocolate cake. Uuumm!  It’s Lucy’s Mum who is the star baker.

This week I was in Bournemouth too and stayed at the Marriott with a room on the corner of the building so the bay window looked over the coast right round to Sandbanks!  I walked round the promenade to Sandbanks hotel where I had a drink before heading back.  I had tried to brave it sitting outside but the wind was too much so I finished the drink in the warmth of the bar. On the return walk I passed a couple of American ladies and wondered if they were part of the Donny Osmond entourage.  You see, I had booked a ticket to see him at the BIC -he was my teenage heart throb – some 40 years ago!  It was a great show anwp_20170126_002d the following  morning, which was incredibly cold and blustery,  went to the Russell-Coates house and art gallery.  It’s stuck in the Victorian era with fabulous interior design and lots of pre-Raphaelite paintings.  There were wonderful windows with views over the bay and the sea was really crashing down on the beach.  So different from the day before. Had a coffee and walnut cake but it didn’t have enough icing for my taste buds….  The americano was nice though…….

Also this week, some of us from St George’s met for coffee at the Yew Tree Garden Centre.  There was Margaret, Carolyn, Mary, Mum and myself.

wp_20170127_003

I couldn’t stay long as I was heading off to an event run by the Berkshire Cancer Rehabilitation team.  The workshop had various speakers and stalls and I won the raffle prize of £40 of aloe vera products! Wow.  Lunch was provided and I couldn’t resist this photo of the doughnuts.  And no, I didn’t have one nor did a lot of other people either judging from the amount left over…..

wp_20170127_005-3

One thought on “Week of 23 January

Leave a Reply

