Week of 27 February

Surgery? Or not? In January I was working through the bucket list and now we have options.  Hence I have stopped the planning.  The proverbial balls are all up in the air! The certainty is that I will have a laparoscopy and see where that takes us. We see Mr Cecil on 17th March to discuss the outcome from the MRI scan and dates for the laparoscopy. This week, I went to my first gym class paid for by MacMillan and organised by Berkshire Cancer Rehabilitation (BCR) at our local leisure centre.  The class uses weights, dumb bells and kettle bells plus exercise bikes.  It was good fun and I will be the fittest I have ever been:)  These classes continue for 3 months and they are free…

I went to the second workshop organised by BCR this week and as Lindsay said to me later in the week ”in life people are either ‘radiators’ or ‘drains’!” – meaning they radiate positivity or drain you of it. The people attending the workshop were, in the main, the latter!  So the last time I attend a support group. wp_20170227_001Anyway, at the Beech Hill church café across the road from the hall, I tucked into some good mood food – a slice of chocolate cake with a chocolate peanut on the top!  To go with my one slice houmous sandwich…..

The highlight of the week was the trip to the Ashmolean with Marion, Judy and Lindsay to see the exhibition: Degas to Picasso.  It was a private collection and I found it interesting to see the preparatory sketches an artist undertakes.  It’s easy to overlook the preparation required before a masterpiece is created.  Aftewp_20170301_005r that we had tea at the Randolph hotel  in the lounge and watched the England rugby players pass by!    These fit looking  under 21s went with Eddie Jones then the rest appeared – crickey- they were huge.  They’d all make good bouncers….

I went to the hairdressers this week and got a new cut.  Here’s me with Jeremy at the Hillier Garden Centre sharing a slice of cappuccino cake. If you look closely you’ll see my new accessory – a blister on the tip of my nose.  The cold wind on the walk last Saturdaywp_20170305_001 affected the skin and I even had to get a course of anti biotics mid week to cure my red infected nose.  What with my catarrh aswell, I’ve not been firing on all 8 cylinders!  So much so, that when I met Anne at the Mug and Brew for  a catch up – she gets her scan results on Monday – I didn’t eat any cake…..

 

Leave a Reply

