Week of 1 May

Well the high point of this week was a high point!  Literally!  Julia, Jenny and I went to Portsmouth for some retail therapy and had afternoon tea at the top of the Spinnaker Tower.  The fruit scones were the best I’d had in a long time; squared shaped with a crunchy sugar coating. As for the cakes, we had a selection of bite size goodies including macarons which I love!  The booking said we had only 1.5 hours which goes surprising quickly as we were mesmerized watching the vessels below us come and go.  Unfortunately, the lady on the next table had a tea port dropped on her by a waitress who hadn’t balanced the tray correctly.  Not nice.

       

Sue and I met this week for a catchup at the Herb Farm in Sonning where we started with coffee and cake and stayed long enough to include lunch too!  It wasn’t the easiest of places to find and I had expected some signs but no.  I resorted to asking a horse rider as my sat nav had me on a wild goose chase….The horse wasn’t going to stop so my car crawled alongside so I could hear the rider’s directions!  With the saxon maze, the gardens and the shop, time flew.  They had a wonderful section of cakes.  My small slice of lime and courgette cake made up for its diminutive size with its great flavour but I still secretly coveted Sue’s huge slice of coffee and walnut cake (bottom row in the picture)!

       

Jeremy and I ticked off another White Horse Walk this week – the Broad Town Horse south of Swindon which is a little traversed walk judging from the great clumps of grass and mature nettles.  Another time of year it would be a quagmire.  The surprise was finding a huge swathe of woodland under planted with blossoming wild garlic as far as the eye could see.

I had a CT scan (with contrast)  this week and finally got to eat at 11.15am so what did I choose but to treat myself with a very chocolaty rocky road at the Blue Café – you must recognise the china by now…. Results next week. Then  I went over to Bushey Heath (Watford) to see Alan the hypnotherapist again.  We learnt last time from the unconscious mind that the cancer is genetic so this time he got my unconscious mind, using visualisation, to visit my DNA where I removed the cancer genes.  Of course I’ll only know if any of this is working when I have my next CT scan.

Anyway, if you think I’m barking now then wait for next week’s post when I’ll tell you about my visit to a white witch…

One thought on “Week of 1 May

  1. Sounds interesting! I’ve always been quite interested in Hypnotherapy so I shall pick your brain further when I see you. Just popping to Cliveden for a stroll & to catch the sunshine J x

    Like

Leave a Reply

