Week of 12 June

This week started in the New Forest at Milford on Sea.  We had a blusteringly blustery time! We stayed at the Beach House Hotel which we knew previously as Westover Hall.  It’s an Arts and Crafts House with magnificent pre-Raphaelite stained glass with views of The Needles. (Even on TV in our room we could gaze at the flashing lighthouse and crashing seas!) We fought the wind along the fast disappearing and still crumbling away coast path to Barton on Sea where we stopped at a caff for a cuppa to refresh ourselves.  The flapjacks were minute and disappeared in 2 bites….too quickly to photograph….

On the return we walked along the shingle beach across prohibited areas prone to land slides….  Jeremy forged ahead and I stumbled along behind trying to avoid getting my feet licked by the sea on the narrow parts and keeping one eye on any potential land fall…..It was hard work on the legs but dessert made up for it. We had  a fab sharing chocolate fondue for dessert at dinner….

Next day,  we got blown along the coast path from Milford to Lymington which meandered through a lovely nature reserve where we spotted many species including humanoids with large dogs and lens.  Or was it the other way round…We watched to ferry to the IOW which I recall getting many years ago.  I recall thinking at the time that one day I would like to walk along the footpath through the marshes.  So I am even ticking off things that I had forgotten I wanted to do…

 

I met with Marion and Judy at The Pineapple Palace and we had some delicious chocolate and orange cake sat out beside the river complete with hissing swan and cygnet. Then at a NGS afternoon with Mum at Dunsborough House, I had a slice of coffee cake.  Someone had put a lot of effort in decorating the top.  All in aid of charity.

  

Mum and I got a private tour at Dunsborough House as their website had advertised the cornflower and poppy meadow.  However, it was out of bounds to the public (I agree – why advertise it?) So I asked a gardener if we could see it as cornflowers are my mother’s favourite flower. So Jose obliged and walked us through the private area of the gardens but said the meadow wasn’t as good this year due to the earlier dry season we had.  Apparently, the cornflowers in his own garden on site are much bigger – thought it best not ask to go round his house…

On the craft side I have joined a team knitting a map of Newbury.  Yes you read that right!  We are starting with small beige squares for the background and later we add knitted landmarks.  No, I don’t expect our house will be on it!

And I have signed up for anther online Future Learn course on Mental Health.  Going to hypnotherapy has sparked my interest in the mind/brain. This has been the most interesting one so far as the comments show such a diverse group of people studying together.

Oh and the total for Christian Aid in Wash Common is £2.000.69 (which includes the gift aid element of those gift aided donations) .  Not bad for just 15 collectors…..

Leave a Reply

