Week of 26 June

Jeremy is recovering well after wounding his head when he took a tumble on Scafell last week.  I recall that afternoon on our return trip to A’n’E the 3 black cats running out in front of the car; he was lucky, lucky, lucky – it could have been a lot worse…..

We popped into to the Mug and Brew this week and shared a Millionaires Slice.  All the cakes look lovely there but a traybake is easier to cut into 2 portions!  I went shopping (unsuccessfully) for a new soft fabric cap for Jeremy to protect his head, but driving home spotted a cap in the middle of the road!!  I pulled over and waited.  No one collected it so I took it home and washed it -it has been really useful! .Here he is looking very pensive…and suffering with his bruised back…

                                 

While I was in Newbury I had a coffee and raspberry macaron at Paul’s.  Lush!  I recall attending a mastercass last year in making macarons with Gill and Pam and chose raspberry with raspberry filling.  I think they do look quite professional…

On the subject of macarons, we had our St George’s ladies do Esseborne lunch this week.  It is always delicious and they too make very nice macarons which get served with coffee at the end of the meal.  They got consumed too quickly to get a photo…Looking forward to afternoon tea there next month….

On the subject of afternoon tea, I had a cream tea to complete my tour of Highgrove Gardens.  Yes, again!  I got the only ticket left in June as I really wanted to see Charles’ National Collection of Delphiniums .  They were fabulous – some 7 foot tall and quite a girth to them too.  The secret has got to be in the compost. It was splendid to see the garden at this time of year.  Looking forward to going again….  No cameras permitted.

Mum and I had a cuppa at the Hillier Garden Centre today and shared a tasty slice of raspberry and lavender loaf.  She had the fit of giggles as I took this one so a nice one to finish the week on!

 

Leave a Reply

